My daughter has a TI-84 Plus Silver that she has only had for 3 years. It was dead and one of the batteries leaked a bit. She opened it and cleaned it out with compressed air and it looks fine. Put it back together and get a message that says "Press alpha F1 - F4 to locate shortcut menus. 1 Do not show again 2 Continue". The problem is that none of the buttons work. Any help you can give would really be appreciated.

Thanks Very Happy
I'm no expert so reserve any conclusions until they speak up. I'd gander a guess that the compressed air may have broke one of the small fragile cables on the circuit board - those cans are rather powerful. To clean battery acid I usually use a Q-tip and rubbing alcohol.

As far as fixes go, I have no idea. I hear soldering the cables back is a huge pain. If yourself, your daughter or someone in your family is familiar/brave enough with taking apart intricate devices carefully you can try and locate any broken leads and wires yourself and post a pic. But like I said, I'd wait for an expert to provide a more educated diagnosis + solution.
comicIDIOT wrote:
I'm no expert so reserve any conclusions until they speak up. I'd gander a guess that the compressed air may have broke one of the small fragile cables on the circuit board - those cans are rather powerful. To clean battery acid I usually use a Q-tip and rubbing alcohol.
Nah, the compressed air can't really damage anything inside the calculator. However, the battery acid is well-documented to damage the traces that connect the keys to the CPU. In some such calculators, I have had to solder small wires around the discontinuities; in others, I have had to replace nearly entire traces. I'm afraid that unless you or someone in your family is handy with a multimeter and a soldering iron, it is unlikely to be repairable.
Don't forget the use of conductive ink! Just be sure to cover any traces afterwards with lacquer or something; I used Scotch tape and it works just fine after a few years.