Greetings! I am a sophomore in highschool and I recently got involved with some friends in a "Calculator Club" (I know it sounds lame). I saw all the ports and programs on your website and I knew immediately that you guys were one of the most experienced groups on the internet. I am so new to coding and all of this I literally have NO idea what to do. I do not have any previous experience with any programs. Each member in the club was assigned a task; mine is to port and code games. I have no idea what to do but if someone could mentor me I would be more than happy to contribute to this community as well. Smile Graphing Calculator [/i][/b]
Hey there Roy, in a way I'm glad you didn't post in our general introduction thread because this gives us the room to explore your options a bit!

1. What kind of games are you guys trying to port?
    • Calculator games? Such as TI-83 to TI-84 CE?
    • Flash to Calculator?
    • Mobile to Calculator?
  2. What experience do you have with programming?
    • You say you're new to programming, but have you at least explored TI-BASIC a bit?

I honestly thought I'd make a longer list than that but I'm sure others will think of other questions to add! My suggestions, start basic. Create a program that solves math functions, create other programs that'll be more complex but equally static such as a Money Manager or Grade Manager, both of which I've made. Move up to a basic movement puzzle to practice movement and collision detection. Then add in physics, so the character has momentum and even bounces. That'll cover beginner and intermediate things in my opinion.

Once you grasp the concept of programming you can start to understand what's involved in porting something over. You'll be able to think in sections and break programs down to core blocks. If you think of a program as a giant project, you're going to get disinterested, whereas if you think of it as tinier projects that make up a whole you'll be able to see better progress.