Since I started playing Minecraft, server-wide transportation has been one of my pet projects. The power of minecart railroads particularly piqued my interest, given my well-documented love of trains.

Current and Planned Server Rails
Legend: Current / Planned / Condemned

Guidelines
  • The Cemetech MC server railroad is meant to serve as many players as possible, and cover the server as much as the players want. It's a public railroad, not a private railroad.
  • All tracks must be freely traversible by any player (ideally including non-whitelisted visitors): you can't have a section of the rail that you need to be a member of a town to traverse.
  • No stations can be private. In general, stations that are near a group of towns are better than a station that serves a single town, and a station that serves a single town but is outside that town's boundaries is better than a station that serves a single town and is inside that town's boundaries. A station that serves a single town, is inside its boundaries, and that you can only get out to wilderness from via town-locked doors, is right out.

Designing Routes
  • When you're designing a route, think like a real world railroad engineer (not the kind with the striped hat). Therefore, smooth, gradual curves and gentle inclines are necessary, for example, otherwise trains won't be able to easily traverse those tracks.
  • Aesthetically pleasing routes, both from the perspective of bystanders and of railroad passengers, are preferred.
  • Imagine that you want to minimize the cost of creating your route: for example, minimize the number of bridges you need and the amount of tunneling you need to do. If you can slightly change a route to reduce the cost, that's preferred.
  • Therefore, ocean-wide bridges aren't allowed, but a tunnel crossing that crosses at the narrowest point of the ocean, is reasonable, for example.

Track