Hello, everyone!

For the past few days, I've been looking at different colleges that offer computer science programs and I was wondering if any of the Cemetech members would be able to recommend a university. Colleges that are in the US would be preferred! Very Happy

I was also wondering what sort of courses would be best for a cybersecurity major as well as what level of math/calculus I would need to have in order to provide a good foundation for it.

Any recommendations would be very much appreciated!
I'm not super qualified to say much about this since I'm only a freshman but the University of Minnesota has a moderately high ranked CS program. There are two options to take for majoring in computer science here: through College of Liberal Arts (CLA) or College of Science and Engineering (CSE). From my understanding, it's not too common for colleges to have a CSE and even more uncommon to have CS in it. I don't know too much about the CLA classes, but in CSE we are required to take CSE 1001 which essentially helps give you a feel for the various other majors in CSE to help you understand the options and what is a best fit. You also don't need to declare your major until your spring semester sophomore year which gives you more time to decide what works best for you. One nice benefit of taking it through CSE is that it is significantly easier than most other colleges to switch to a different major because you don't need to change your college to, say, major in Computer Engineering.

Looking at the Computer Science Four-Year Plan, the highest math class is Calculus II (and many people have this already completed through AP testing).

Also, the upper level undergraduate tracks for CS can be found here.

Hope this helps! I'm kinda bragging a lot about my university but hey, what else was I supposed to do. I'm going for (probably) Mechanical Engineering and was thinking of minoring in either Computer Science or Electrical Engineering.