I have a conditional in my program that I just can't seem to get working right. I've rewrote it several times, but can't think of anything else to try.

Code:

:If sub(Str1,Z,1)="1 and L2(1=-44 or sub(Str1,Z,1)="2 and L2(1)=-44

That's giving me an invalid dim when it comes to it. I tried saying "if the first thing AND the second or the third" but it didn't work (but didn't give me an error). Parenthises didn't seem to work like in other languages.

Btw, this is my first time working with strings. I wouldn't be surprised if it's a string-related problem.
Methinks you should close parentheses and quotes before "and"s and "or"s. Wink
calc84maniac wrote:
Methinks you should close parentheses and quotes before "and"s and "or"s. Wink

Yep, that did it! Thanks. Damn optimizations. Very Happy Oh, well. But is there a way to save a few bytes and only type the "l2(1)=-44" once?

Code:

:sub(Str1,Z,1
:If L2(1)=-44 and (Ans="1" or Ans="2
calc84maniac wrote:

Code:

:If L2(1)=-44 and (Ans="1" or Ans="2

That's odd. I thought I tried that setup... I must be slipping today. Thanks, again!
You're welcome. Smile

Here's some more optimization:

Code:

:If -44=L2(1)(Ans="1" or Ans="2
calc84maniac wrote:
You're welcome. Smile

Here's some more optimization:

Code:

:If -44=L2(1)(Ans="1" or Ans="2
Not sure, but if that doesn't work, you need to add a set of extra grouping parentheses to make it clear that it's implicit AND, not multiplication. In fact, I'm almost sure you do...

Code:

:If (-44=L2(1))(Ans="1" or Ans="2
The only way -44 can equal L2(1)(Ans="1" or Ans="2") is if:
(Ans="1" or Ans="2") is true
and
L2(1)=-44
which is exactly what it did before, only smaller.
calc84maniac wrote:
The only way -44 can equal L2(1)(Ans="1" or Ans="2") is if:
(Ans="1" or Ans="2") is true
and
L2(1)=-44
which is exactly what it did before, only smaller.