Hi,

I found the pages on calculators recommendations and unfortunately they end in 2018 without many words about Casios.

I am in my fifties now and during my kind of highschool and student time (Electrical Engineering) I used a TI 30 (no, not one of the current line but from the 80ies...). During my professional life in industry I did not need a calculator. Either I used Excel, or matlab or programmed myself.

Now I am a lecturer at a university on applied science. Just by fun I used some spare time to learn using slide rules. With this knowledge I wondered about development in calculators and yes, modern calculators can do some more than a TI 30 from the 80ies...

100% of my students use Casios and only one of them a graphical one since in most German kind of highschools the "highest" Casio model which is allowed is the Casio Fx85 series. I borrowed one from my children. Non Casios like TI or HP seem to be very rare nowadays in Germany.

Digging around I see that in Anglosaxon countries it seems to be quite standard to use graphing and even CAS calculators in school and exams. Now I have two issues: the didactic sense (if teachers would read here...) and the models in comparision.

In "normal" scientific calculators I'd say Casio is leading with their fx 991 beeing able to handle 4x4 matrices besides complex calculation.

In Graphic and CAS calculators, if I'd like one to play with, which one? Watching youtube videos, there seems to be a lot speeking for the HP Prime, mainly its price and its speed. What's about the Casio CG 50 and their ClassPad II (FX-CP400)? What are disadvantages of the HP Prime?

What might be the didactic reasons of using such a calculator? My feeling is that it does not make sense to teach a "tool" calculator since at least to my experience time of calculators is over, at least in industry. If there are reasons beside Excel, matlab, maxima, whatever is not allowed in exams, which reasons may those be?

Best regards
Andreas