Hi, I'm new to Ti84 Plus CE programming, but I'm making a pretty large program. I'm only at 37k program size right now but I'm anticipating going over the size limit eventually. I've learned that the toolchain will auto-split my program into AppVars that it loads at runtime. However, apparently the extra code is copied into RAM when run. This is a problem because I need all the RAM I can get for storing various game objects.

My confusion is that the doc for the toolchain says:
Quote:
Running code directly from a flash memory instead of copying it to RAM first is known as XIP (execute-in-place) flash.

The TI-84 Plus CE continues to use an XIP design like the TI-83 Plus before it.

Therefore, why does the program need to be copied into RAM from flash? And is there any way to avoid this?

Also, kind of related question: Why is the program size limit 65k, which is 2^16, when the processor is 24-bit?
I'm going to assume that the docs are referring to how the OS functions instead of how a program is run because as far as I know programs are always copied to RAM to be run.

Program size is limited to a 16 bit size value because the structure of programs only allows for 2 bytes to represent the size.
You can read from flash memory and use it to store program objects/data instead if that is your question.

What type of program data do you have?
The eZ80 processor has very insufficient support for position-independent code. Unlike the OS (which is compiled to run from a specific address in Flash) and Flash Applications (which contain relocation info and the OS actively relocates them when they're moved), programs have no way of knowing where they'll be stored in Flash. That's why they're always loaded into RAM, in a specific location.

Also note that user RAM (where BASIC variables are stored, and what shows in the memory menu) is where the program is loaded, which is a completely separate area from static BSS and dynamic allocations in C and doesn't affect those.