I'm extremely new to php so I don't doubt I'm just doing something stupid here.

Code:
$mysqli = new mysqli($dbserver,$dbusername,$dbpassword);

if (mysqli_connect_errno()) {
    printf("Connect failed: %s\n", mysqli_connect_error());
    exit();
}

$stmt = $mysqli->prepare("SELECT * FROM ? WHERE user = ? AND pass = ?");
 $stmt->bind_param('sss', $dbtable, $inputuser, $inputpass);

The last statement in that is line 35.

Quote:
Fatal error: Call to a member function bind_param() on a non-object in /home/students/rcgrube/public_html/oo.php on line 35

Doesn't this:

Code:
$stmt = $mysqli->prepare("SELECT * FROM ? WHERE user = ? AND pass = ?");

make $stmt the correct type of object?
I've never even used the mysqli functions (old school mysql all the way), but according to the php docs, there are 2 ways to go about it.

OOP-style:

Code:

//... blah blah blah

$stmt = $mysqli->prepare("INSERT INTO CountryLanguage VALUES (?, ?, ?, ?)");
$stmt->bind_param('sssd', $code, $language, $official, $percent);

$code = 'DEU';
$language = 'Bavarian';
$official = "F";
$percent = 11.2;

/* execute prepared statement */
$stmt->execute();

printf("%d Row inserted.\n", $stmt->affected_rows);

/* close statement and connection */
$stmt->close();

// blah blah blah ...

Procedural:

Code:

// ... blah blah blah

$stmt = mysqli_prepare($link, "INSERT INTO CountryLanguage VALUES (?, ?, ?, ?)");
mysqli_stmt_bind_param($stmt, 'sssd', $code, $language, $official, $percent);

$code = 'DEU';
$language = 'Bavarian';
$official = "F";
$percent = 11.2;

/* execute prepared statement */
mysqli_stmt_execute($stmt);

printf("%d Row inserted.\n", mysqli_stmt_affected_rows($stmt));

/* close statement and connection */
mysqli_stmt_close($stmt);

// blah blah blah...

And what you wrote seems to match the first version.
elfprince13 wrote:
I've never even used the mysqli functions (old school mysql all the way), but according to the php docs, there are 2 ways to go about it.

[code code code]