Ok, i'm starting a new project for a friend and i'm in way over my head on this one Sad . I'm wanting to create a system that allows a user to input three things: Title; Description; And phone number. I would like for these things to then be saved to a database. That is my first problem to overcome the second is that i need everything saved in the database to be displayed in a webpage almost like a Craigslist search. I would only need the title to be displayed for this , and when a user clicks on the title it shows the rest of the information. Craigslist is the best example that i can think of that resembles what i'm wanting. If anyone could point me in the right direction or tell me if i'm going about this the wrong way that would be very useful. Sample code would be terrific since I have never done this before.
Foremost, I think it might be a good idea to give http://w3schools.com/sql/default.asp and/or http://w3schools.com/php/php_mysql_intro.asp a look-over. W3Schools is pretty good at explaining this stuff.

I'm sure Cemetech's resident smart people can help you further, too Smile
MySQL sucks. PostgreSQL is the only way to fly.
I already have a LAMP server set up , and I would like to use this. I am also doing this so I could learn a little in the process.
LS, Alpine, Mail, and Perl?
Sounds like you want to learn about INSERT and SELECT (and presumably eventually UPDATE and DELETE as well).

allynfolksjr wrote:
LS, Alpine, Mail, and Perl?

*facepalm* @ the Washington kid.
Are you insulting the greatest IMAP client on Earth?
allynfolksjr wrote:
Are you insulting the greatest IMAP client on Earth?

Tribute. I'd never even heard of Alpine, but instantly knew it was a successor/replacement for Pine (and yes I know that was UW too).
1) It sounds like you want to use a bit of CSS+Javascript goodness to show/hide divs when you click on item titles.

2) PHP to generate the forms to be filled out!