Hi all,
I'm new to Cemetech however I have been working with TI-83s for a good number of years. With the recent development of my website I have decided to make an online TI-BASIC IDE much similar to SourceCoder. I have decided my language of choice shall be PHP. However, I have no idea how to turn regular text into a .8xp document. I believe there are hashtables and tokens involved; unfortunely I have no prior experience in these areas and thus have no idea how to go about solving this.

Can anybody tutor me (or explain in plain english) how I should go about doing this?

Any help will be greatly appreciated! Smile
Welcome to Cemetech, techboy6601! Please be sure to Introduce Yourself when you get a chance. I'm curious why you want to create your own IDE instead of using SourceCoder; are their features that it lacks that you need? SourceCoder is indeed written in PHP, with MySQL for the user projects storage. The tokens are stored in two tables, a reverse table and a forward table, with some clever algorithms of my own design to translate between tokenized and untokenized form.
Don't get me wrong; I love SourceCoder. I'm just doing it to test my abilities, sort of like a coding exercise. I would just like to see how it works; and I would also like something to call my own.
techboy6601 wrote:
Don't get me wrong; I love SourceCoder. I'm just doing it to test my abilities, sort of like a coding exercise. I would just like to see how it works; and I would also like something to call my own.
Certainly a respectable goal. I too have been known to "reinvent the wheel" more often than most. I think one of the most valuable resources for me when I was designing SourceCoder was the File Format and Link Protocol guide, or whatever its jumble of keywords happens to be:

http://www.ticalc.org/archives/files/fileinfo/247/24750.html
Thanks for the post - I'll review.

I can see how this is helpful however I have no idea how to use it *sheepish smirk*