This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's Website subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. Provide United-TI with Feedback. => Website
Author Message
Radical Pi


Advanced Member


Joined: 23 Nov 2005
Posts: 455

Posted: 12 Mar 2006 06:49:50 pm    Post subject:

Is anyone actually making a grayscale quadratic solver, or am I free to? Very Happy
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 12 Mar 2006 07:02:59 pm    Post subject:

Radical Pi wrote:
Guessing games are the easiest to beat. Just figure out what var holds the random number, and Rcl it at the Prompt. Very Happy
[post="72053"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]
There are workarounds around that. For example, archive the variable before the Input command.

And I don't think anyone's making a grayscale quadratic equation solver.
Back to top
elfprince13
Retired


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 11 Apr 2005
Posts: 3500

Posted: 13 Mar 2006 12:19:52 am    Post subject:

DarkerLine wrote:
And I don't think anyone's making a grayscale quadratic equation solver.


ai-ai-ai-ai....dont give him any ideas..... on the other hand, it would round out TiCalc.org collection quite nicely:

Back to top
Radical Pi


Advanced Member


Joined: 23 Nov 2005
Posts: 455

Posted: 13 Mar 2006 05:30:02 pm    Post subject:

I'm doing it anyway, if I can get the grayscale tutorials working for me.
Back to top
alexrudd
pm me if you read this


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 06 Oct 2004
Posts: 2335

Posted: 13 Mar 2006 05:32:18 pm    Post subject:

Weregoose wrote:
[font="courier new"]Repeat 0
ClrHome
Disp "Guess my number!
Repeat X=Ans
Input ">",X
int(randE2
If X≠Ans
Disp "Wrong!
End
Disp "Right!
rand(48
End
[post="72055"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]
Just keep guessing 1, your program changes the number each time.

Weregoose wrote:
If we continue on like this, we might get something worthy of a UTI download! Wink
Let's make a contest of it!
No, not really. We don't need any more spam.
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 13 Mar 2006 06:27:38 pm    Post subject:

Radical Pi wrote:
I'm doing it anyway, if I can get the grayscale tutorials working for me.
[post="72128"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]
What exactly are you planning to do in grayscale? The splash screen?
Back to top
Radical Pi


Advanced Member


Joined: 23 Nov 2005
Posts: 455

Posted: 13 Mar 2006 06:30:01 pm    Post subject:

You'll see...
Back to top
Super Speler
Super Awesome Dude


Calc Guru


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 1391

Posted: 13 Mar 2006 09:54:46 pm    Post subject:


Code:
Repeat 0
ClrHome
Disp "Guess my number!
while ans
Input ">",X
int(randE2
X≠Ans
if ans
Disp "Wrong!
End
Disp "Right!
rand(48
End

I optimised Weregoose by 1 byte!!! Cool
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 13 Mar 2006 10:00:56 pm    Post subject:

Except for if Ans is 0 at the beginning of the program, your code exits Wink
Back to top
Super Speler
Super Awesome Dude


Calc Guru


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 1391

Posted: 13 Mar 2006 10:05:13 pm    Post subject:

Way to rain on my parade! Any way to use a repeat loop instead? I can't think of any, not( wouldn't save the byte.
Back to top
Brazucs
I have no idea what my avatar is.


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 31 Mar 2004
Posts: 3349

Posted: 14 Mar 2006 12:38:21 am    Post subject:

Super Speler wrote:
I optimised Weregoose by 1 byte!!! Cool
Scary will be the day that Weregoose is truly out-optimized...
Back to top
Weregoose
Authentic INTJ


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 25 Nov 2004
Posts: 3976

Posted: 14 Mar 2006 03:10:54 am    Post subject:

Brazucs wrote:
Scary will be the day that Weregoose is truly out-optimized...
Well, Radical Pi was able to do that while discussing string subsets in the channel. Rolling Eyes
Back to top
elfprince13
Retired


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 11 Apr 2005
Posts: 3500

Posted: 14 Mar 2006 10:25:59 am    Post subject:

most of my programs only get 1 or 2 optimizations. Very Happy I remember when I closed every parenthesis, and put 1 line if statements inside Then End (although that does actually make it faster).
Back to top
Radical Pi


Advanced Member


Joined: 23 Nov 2005
Posts: 455

Posted: 14 Mar 2006 04:30:31 pm    Post subject:

Weregoose wrote:
Brazucs wrote:
Scary will be the day that Weregoose is truly out-optimized...
Well, Radical Pi was able to do that while discussing string subsets in the channel. Rolling Eyes
[post="72188"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]

:blush: You have to realize I'm learning from the best. And what you eventually came up with was the same as mine. Though I don't understand how it gave you an error - did you figure that out?
Back to top
Weregoose
Authentic INTJ


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 25 Nov 2004
Posts: 3976

Posted: 14 Mar 2006 04:36:15 pm    Post subject:

I think it was forgetting the space at the end of the string. ;)

In a perfect world, I wouldn't have any code left to optimize! Very Happy
Back to top
elfprince13
Retired


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 11 Apr 2005
Posts: 3500

Posted: 14 Mar 2006 04:53:03 pm    Post subject:

Weregoose wrote:
I think it was forgetting the space at the end of the string. ;)

In a perfect world, I wouldn't have any code left to optimize! Very Happy



but then it wouldn't be as perfect because we'd no longer be able to cut 1k out of a 5k program in a single coding session (Ive done it....and if I can goose can) and thus lose a major source of entertainment
Back to top
Radical Pi


Advanced Member


Joined: 23 Nov 2005
Posts: 455

Posted: 14 Mar 2006 05:00:50 pm    Post subject:

lol yeah, Optimizing code is my favorite pastime!
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 14 Mar 2006 06:30:14 pm    Post subject:

Since the number gets re-generated every time, your probability of guessing it stays at .01 and you can optimize the code to:


Code:
Repeat 0
ClrHome
Disp "Guess my number!
Repeat not(Ans
Input ">",X
int(randE2
If Ans
Disp "Wrong!
End
Disp "Right!
rand(48
End
Back to top
Spyderbyte


Advanced Member


Joined: 29 May 2003
Posts: 372

Posted: 15 Mar 2006 10:32:53 pm    Post subject:

With a 1% chance, I think you're pretty safe optimizing it to:

Disp "Guess my number:
While 1
Input ">",X
Disp "Wrong!
End

:biggrin:

Spyderbyte
Back to top
Super Speler
Super Awesome Dude


Calc Guru


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 1391

Posted: 08 Apr 2006 02:39:44 pm    Post subject:

Off topic but I didn't want to have to create a new topic for such a small problem. I have a finished project. I dont have a link to the computer for my calculator. Is it OK to upload the project in a notepad document?
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    » Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 2 of 3 » All times are UTC - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement