This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's TI-Freak8x subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. Pokemon Purple => TI-Freak8x
Author Message
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 16 Apr 2008 10:35:59 am    Post subject:

Not too hard. Make a list of the directions you go in, and then write a routine that's essentially a copy of the normal walking routine, but reads this list instead of getKey.

You could even work it into the normal routine as an If-Else statement, if it wouldn't slow things down too much.
Back to top
tifreak8x


Elite


Joined: 27 Aug 2005
Posts: 956

Posted: 16 Apr 2008 10:48:33 am    Post subject:

Yeah, Will probably work on an engine to handle things like that. Using lists would probably be easiest, using a format of direction.steps

Should be relatively easy to make. Very Happy
Back to top
SonicBoom95


Member


Joined: 31 Jan 2008
Posts: 237

Posted: 16 Apr 2008 11:42:31 am    Post subject:

...oh. SonicBoom feeled kinda stoopiderest. But it's all good now.
Back to top
tifreak8x


Elite


Joined: 27 Aug 2005
Posts: 956

Posted: 16 Apr 2008 01:26:34 pm    Post subject:

lol, it's ok. I have had a lot more time to think on alot of these routines and such. Smile
Back to top
vuurrobin


Advanced Member


Joined: 09 Aug 2006
Posts: 428

Posted: 17 Apr 2008 08:27:46 am    Post subject:

tifreak8x wrote:
Using lists would probably be easiest, using a format of direction.steps
[post="122499"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]


I think it is easier if you use the actual getkey values. that way, you won't have to change the code for moving the character.
Back to top
SonicBoom95


Member


Joined: 31 Jan 2008
Posts: 237

Posted: 17 Apr 2008 08:31:17 am    Post subject:

I assumed that was what tifreak meant...

EDIT: Assumption of gender.


Last edited by Guest on 17 Apr 2008 08:31:35 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 17 Apr 2008 09:30:05 am    Post subject:

vuurrobin wrote:
tifreak8x wrote:
Using lists would probably be easiest, using a format of direction.steps
[post="122499"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]


I think it is easier if you use the actual getkey values. that way, you won't have to change the code for moving the character.
[post="122535"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]
I assume a large portion of the time you'd be making several steps in the same direction. So if you were using getKey values, you'd end up with a list several times longer. It's essentially a run-length-encoded version.

But yes, it might be convenient to use arrow key values to encode the direction portion of "direction.step".


Last edited by Guest on 17 Apr 2008 09:30:33 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
tifreak8x


Elite


Joined: 27 Aug 2005
Posts: 956

Posted: 17 Apr 2008 10:30:30 am    Post subject:

That is sort of what i had in mind, yes. Smile Would make things so much easier.
Back to top
SonicBoom95


Member


Joined: 31 Jan 2008
Posts: 237

Posted: 17 Apr 2008 11:45:24 am    Post subject:

DarkerLine wrote:
vuurrobin wrote:
tifreak8x wrote:
Using lists would probably be easiest, using a format of direction.steps
[post="122499"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]


I think it is easier if you use the actual getkey values. that way, you won't have to change the code for moving the character.
[post="122535"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]
I assume a large portion of the time you'd be making several steps in the same direction. So if you were using getKey values, you'd end up with a list several times longer. It's essentially a run-length-encoded version.

But yes, it might be convenient to use arrow key values to encode the direction portion of "direction.step".
[post="122545"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]


getKey values will probably be the easiest. And there really aren't a lot of SEs (scripted events) in Red/Blue...maybe Yellow, but we'll talk about that later. The longer lists probably won't mean that much if we can get it running quicker.
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 17 Apr 2008 12:46:10 pm    Post subject:

SonicBoom95 wrote:
getKey values will probably be the easiest. And there really aren't a lot of SEs (scripted events) in Red/Blue...maybe Yellow, but we'll talk about that later. The longer lists probably won't mean that much if we can get it running quicker.
[post="122550"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]
It literally takes one or two lines of code to decode RLE. And a short scripted event still might end up being a long list, which not only means a large program, but also lots of memory usage at runtime (which might be an issue at this point).

I doubt this is high on tifreak's priority list, to be honest, but I'm sure the memory is more important to him than the slightly more difficult routine.
Back to top
SonicBoom95


Member


Joined: 31 Jan 2008
Posts: 237

Posted: 22 Apr 2008 11:48:52 am    Post subject:

And there's always the option of not doing SEs. Really.

EDIT: I thought of some options for self-references after the "nitacku=pikachu" thing.

1. Replace Elite Four with project leads.
2. Remember how you get Eevee? In that room full of GAME FREAK people? Replace them with us.
3. A secret area populated with trainers bearing our middle names. No one but us would know, but...
4. Secret Pokemon. This is the idea I slapped myself after having.


Last edited by Guest on 24 Apr 2008 08:25:10 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
SuperKoolKid


Newbie


Joined: 10 Jan 2008
Posts: 13

Posted: 25 Apr 2008 01:07:06 pm    Post subject:

Christopher can be an option for the name you pick for yourself or your rival. (It's my middle name).
Back to top
SonicBoom95


Member


Joined: 31 Jan 2008
Posts: 237

Posted: 28 Apr 2008 08:36:43 am    Post subject:

Good idea, although I'd want a way for you to put in your own name, like in the original.
Back to top
tifreak8x


Elite


Joined: 27 Aug 2005
Posts: 956

Posted: 03 May 2008 09:05:09 pm    Post subject:

Heh, we will see though. :P

Right now, recompressing sprites. DarthAndroid I believe it was was kind enough to provide a program to do this for me. However, I have not seen him active lately to ask him about it, because I cannot find it in my external hdd. So, for now, I am doing them by hand, and am making decent time at it. I really need to stop being distracted...
Back to top
SonicBoom95


Member


Joined: 31 Jan 2008
Posts: 237

Posted: 05 May 2008 01:45:45 pm    Post subject:

<offtopic>
Wow, this is the only time a topic I've started has gone further than 10 posts...w00t.
DISTRACTION!!!!!!11!!1111!!11!oneonesix!!!11!1!11111elevenone11!
</offtopic>

So, can I help with the sprites...or with anything?
Back to top
tifreak8x


Elite


Joined: 27 Aug 2005
Posts: 956

Posted: 05 May 2008 09:41:30 pm    Post subject:

Heh, not sure you want to get mixed up in the sprites XD

http://tifreakware.net/tifreak8x/spritedata.zip

If you want to at least see the data for the sprites 3-151 in an uncompressed format. Smile
Back to top
SonicBoom95


Member


Joined: 31 Jan 2008
Posts: 237

Posted: 06 May 2008 08:41:37 am    Post subject:

Okay, that's...complicated. But anyways, can I help with anything else? I'm feeling kind of useless here, and while I'm not 1337 at BASIC (at least, not yet) I'm passable, and always ready for a challenge...
Back to top
tifreak8x


Elite


Joined: 27 Aug 2005
Posts: 956

Posted: 06 May 2008 12:35:16 pm    Post subject:

lol, thought you might say that. XD

At this point, not sure what I need to do next. :/ If I have anything, I will post about it Smile
Back to top
SonicBoom95


Member


Joined: 31 Jan 2008
Posts: 237

Posted: 06 May 2008 03:55:04 pm    Post subject:

Well, an inventory system seems like the next step...?
Back to top
tifreak8x


Elite


Joined: 27 Aug 2005
Posts: 956

Posted: 06 May 2008 10:49:13 pm    Post subject:

The basic inventory system is in place, only thing is, I have to finalize setting it up so it works from the inventory option from the battle system, the pokemon selection (while in battle), and from the main menu. At this point.. I think my next step is random encounters... from there, building some more of the menus and such will be important.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    » Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 2 of 3 » All times are UTC - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement