This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's Calculator Programming subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. General Coding and Design => Calculator Programming
Author Message
Ph34r_my_l33t_skillz


Advanced Member


Joined: 09 Oct 2007
Posts: 339

Posted: 24 Apr 2008 12:09:34 pm    Post subject:

Does anyone know a place where I can find code to make an Ajax chat program in HTML coding? I'm looking for the source code itself, as I learn best from looking at source code and messing around with it. That way I can figure out what it does. So does anyone have or know where I can get the code? I'm also looking for it in HTML coding so I can put it on my website. Thanks!
Back to top
magicdanw
pcGuru()


Calc Guru


Joined: 14 Feb 2007
Posts: 1110

Posted: 24 Apr 2008 12:47:57 pm    Post subject:

Any chat program needs a centralized server. So even if you find some code you can copy and paste, at most it'll just show you the client code, and at least it will just show you the server name. If you want to make and/or host one yourself, you'll need some kind of server-side scripting, like PHP, which I unfortunately don't know too much about. Try asking on Cemetech, since KermMartian does stuff with PHP (I think).
Back to top
TheStorm


Calc Guru


Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 1233

Posted: 24 Apr 2008 04:24:28 pm    Post subject:

Kerm wrote up a chat program in ajax he calls "sax", it is designed as a phpbb add-on but I'm sure the code would be very useful to you, it can be found here
Back to top
kermmartian
Site Admin Kemetech


Calc Guru


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 1220

Posted: 24 Apr 2008 09:11:24 pm    Post subject:

TheStorm wrote:
Kerm wrote up a chat program in ajax he calls "sax", it is designed as a  phpbb add-on but I'm sure the code would be very useful to you, it can be found here
[post="122800"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]

Haha, thanks for the plug. Yup, SAX (Simultaneous Asynchronous eXchange) is an AJAX chat widget for phpBB, programmed in PHP and using a flat file for conversation dissemination.
Back to top
Ph34r_my_l33t_skillz


Advanced Member


Joined: 09 Oct 2007
Posts: 339

Posted: 25 Apr 2008 09:28:23 am    Post subject:

Thanks, but that won't work. I was looking for something that you could put in <script language=javascript></script> tags. I'm putting it in a part of the site that works with html, so php isn't working.
Back to top
kermmartian
Site Admin Kemetech


Calc Guru


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 1220

Posted: 25 Apr 2008 10:12:34 am    Post subject:

Ph34r_my_l33t_skillz wrote:
Thanks, but that won't work. I was looking for something that you could put in <script language=javascript></script> tags. I'm putting it in a part of the site that works with html, so php isn't working.
[post="122823"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]

There's no way to do it without PHP or some other server-side programming language, because you need the server to coordinate sharing text between the clients.
Back to top
Ph34r_my_l33t_skillz


Advanced Member


Joined: 09 Oct 2007
Posts: 339

Posted: 25 Apr 2008 11:36:56 am    Post subject:

Alright. I understand.

Is there a way to make a shoutbox I can put up? I think I've seen simple shoutboxes in html or javascript before. Can this be done?
Back to top
TheStorm


Calc Guru


Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 1233

Posted: 25 Apr 2008 11:44:28 am    Post subject:

Isn't that basically what sax chat is, i can't see a difference in what you want and what sax can do, and from my understanding is that you would need something like sax to handle that, unless you want people to be constantly reloading the page.
Back to top
Ph34r_my_l33t_skillz


Advanced Member


Joined: 09 Oct 2007
Posts: 339

Posted: 25 Apr 2008 11:51:04 am    Post subject:

I (now) want just a simple shoutbox that people type something in and it sbmits it. Yes you would have to reload the page to see any new shouts, but it doesn't have to be like instant chat.
Back to top
alexrudd
pm me if you read this


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 06 Oct 2004
Posts: 2335

Posted: 25 Apr 2008 02:36:39 pm    Post subject:

Think about it for a minute. Where are the shouts/messages being stored? Anything like this needs to be running server-side, unless you like talking to yourself.

Last edited by Guest on 25 Apr 2008 02:37:10 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
magicdanw
pcGuru()


Calc Guru


Joined: 14 Feb 2007
Posts: 1110

Posted: 25 Apr 2008 03:18:01 pm    Post subject:

If the problem is that your server doesn't support server-side scripting, I know of some free ones that do. Here's one I use for my own site:

http://www.000webhost.com/
Back to top
Ph34r_my_l33t_skillz


Advanced Member


Joined: 09 Oct 2007
Posts: 339

Posted: 28 Apr 2008 09:23:29 am    Post subject:

magicdanw wrote:
If the problem is that your server doesn't support server-side scripting, I know of some free ones that do.  Here's one I use for my own site:

http://www.000webhost.com/
[post="122840"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]

Thanks for the link. I'll set up a site there.
So I can set up a full chat here, or just a chatbox?
Back to top
kermmartian
Site Admin Kemetech


Calc Guru


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 1220

Posted: 28 Apr 2008 09:32:43 am    Post subject:

Ph34r_my_l33t_skillz wrote:
magicdanw wrote:
If the problem is that your server doesn't support server-side scripting, I know of some free ones that do.  Here's one I use for my own site:

http://www.000webhost.com/
[post="122840"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]

Thanks for the link. I'll set up a site there.
So I can set up a full chat here, or just a chatbox?
[post="122907"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]

They're conceptually the same; you can have either both or neither. If one works, the other will, and if one doesn't, the other won't either. Both require server-side writeback.

Edit: Oh, and I noticed something about your first post: If you're such a "1337 n1nj4," then you'd know that HTML is not a coding language, it's a markup language. Razz


Last edited by Guest on 28 Apr 2008 09:35:53 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Ph34r_my_l33t_skillz


Advanced Member


Joined: 09 Oct 2007
Posts: 339

Posted: 28 Apr 2008 09:46:49 am    Post subject:

OK, then I'll try the chatbox.

Oh, I know HTML isn't a coding language... I didn't mean to say HTML coding. I just meant using HTML. Wink
Back to top
kermmartian
Site Admin Kemetech


Calc Guru


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 1220

Posted: 28 Apr 2008 09:47:21 am    Post subject:

Haha, fair enough. Good luck, tell us how it goes.
Back to top
Ph34r_my_l33t_skillz


Advanced Member


Joined: 09 Oct 2007
Posts: 339

Posted: 28 Apr 2008 06:57:34 pm    Post subject:

OK I got the FTP set up and everything, but I'm not sure how to install it. Do I just put the jscript and php files in a directory of the FTP, or is there more to it? The site (cemtech) says it will take about 15 min, so what more do I have to do? Sorry if I sound n00bish, but I haven't done this before. Razz
Back to top
magicdanw
pcGuru()


Calc Guru


Joined: 14 Feb 2007
Posts: 1110

Posted: 28 Apr 2008 07:00:15 pm    Post subject:

If you're using the PHPBB plugin, then you need PHPBB installed first. If you just want a chat program, google php chat programs.
Back to top
Ph34r_my_l33t_skillz


Advanced Member


Joined: 09 Oct 2007
Posts: 339

Posted: 28 Apr 2008 07:25:12 pm    Post subject:

I already have the code from Kerm. I just wanted to konw how to install it on the site.
Back to top
magicdanw
pcGuru()


Calc Guru


Joined: 14 Feb 2007
Posts: 1110

Posted: 28 Apr 2008 07:41:01 pm    Post subject:

Which code from Kerm? Are you talking about his SAX? That's a phpBB plugin, meaning you need to set up a phpBB forum first. Do you have one already?
Back to top
Ph34r_my_l33t_skillz


Advanced Member


Joined: 09 Oct 2007
Posts: 339

Posted: 28 Apr 2008 07:44:46 pm    Post subject:

No, but with 000webhost I can upload one. I could make one really quick, though. I'll configure it later, but get it set up for the chat first.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    » Goto page 1, 2  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 1 of 2 » All times are UTC - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement